A new year {happy 2014!}

I’ve been reflecting and thinking a lot about this past year.  It by far was my best year yet!  I reached and surpassed many of the goals I set for myself not only physically but mentally and emotionally.  I learned how to deal with my emotions better regarding my grieving process AND my addiction to food and all that comes with weight loss.  I’ve chosen the path of happiness and positivity because after all..

happinessNo truer words, that’s for sure.  Those two things have gotten me to where I am today…along with a lot of motivation and support from my family and friends.  I shed years of being overweight, ran my first 5k, did my longest mt. bike rides yet, saw new places, traveled a bit, became a spin instructor, was the best Mom I could be and pushed myself beyond what I thought I could do.   Dan and Sam also had a great year.  From recovering from foot surgery and becoming stronger now than before, Dan is doing amazing things.  Sam started preschool, traveled to new places and swam, skied and biked his little heart out.

As I look forward to a new year and what it holds I’m excited.   I’ve got several things I’d like to get done this year like…keep our home more organized, work on food storage and emergency preparedness, make our blogs to book, take more camping trips with Sam to new places, travel a bit and keep improving my strength and fitness, to name a few.  Ultimately I’d like to continue maintaining this lifestyle and really learn how to live this way forever.  Dan and I both want to possibly do a race but definitely something big again on our bikes or running.  For us, these are really good goals to have to keep us in shape, motivated and playing outside!

And this…

yourselfI want to be the best version of myself.  I want to stop comparing myself to others and just focus on all aspects of me as a woman, wife and mother.  Everyday we can make ourselves better, even with just tiny and small changes or better habits.

IMG_3964I hope you’ve all resolved to be a little better and do some really fun stuff!  Happy New Year!

Oh and because I know Grandpa Mike would LOVE to see this…So proud of our little guy.  No more magic worm.  Four years old in two weeks!

Leave a Reply

