Good Monday Morning

Let’s get right to it.  Day 15 of my Whole30.  Halfway there and going strong!

I’m down 2 lbs from last week, which is awesome! (only 2 lbs away from the original goal I set).  More importantly I feel so, so good. I haven’t cheated on the program at all.  I have lots of energy- especially in the afternoons, my skin seems to “glow” more, my insides feel REALLY good (except for when I eat sweet potatoes, such a bummer) and I’m falling asleep very easily at night.  My clothes are really comfortable and/or loose and my sugar cravings seem to be gone at this point.  I’m excited for the weight loss, but the other stuff is what really matters to me since it’s the way I want to feel for the rest of my life.  The only way I can describe it is that I feel “lighter.”

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want a nibble of dark chocolate or some greek yogurt, but it’s not like I’m dying to have it which is such a good feeling! I’m also still trying not to snack as much, which for some reason is just a huge challenge for me.   I didn’t think I could drink my tea without at least a little sugar, but I have been and it’s been totally fine.  As of now, the biggest take away halfway through this journey is that it’s been teaching me to really meal plan and shop only 1-2 times a week for food.  We’ve been eating SUCH good food and something new almost every night.  I LOVE it and I know Dan and Sam do too 🙂  Here’s to the next 15 days of going strong!

meatballsSpaghetti squash with {paleo} meatballs.  This was way good!  Spaghetti squash is so versatile.  Use it in place of pasta whenever you can 🙂applesauce

Ali gave me a huge bag of apples from her tree, so I made crock pot applesauce, thanks to her recommendation.  Holy crap that stuff is GOOD!  Apples, cinnamon and nutmeg.  That’s it!  It’s super sweet, too.hasheggs

Hash n’ eggs.  Unfortunately, sweet potatoes have not been agreeing with me lately and I’m not sure why.  I know there’s a lot of fiber in them, but I’ve eaten them before this Whole30 and seem to have been fine.  I’ll have to eat the sparingly from here on out I think.almond butter

Made almond butter yesterday.  Toasted the almonds and let our awesome food processor do the rest.  Added in several pinches of salt at the end.  DELICIOUS and so much cheaper than buying at the store!pumpkinsmoothieAnd Ali made this delicious smoothie “treat” the other night when we had dinner.  Coconut milk, banana, pumpkin puree, pumpkin pie spice.  Oh man, so rich and yummy.

______________

gpafuneral1Grandpa Dorn’s funeral was so good.  They buried him with military honors, which was so special and so neat to watch.

siblingsoct2013My siblings.  I love them so much.  {Ali, Jenn, Matt, me, Justin}

momsamfuneralSam did great the entire time and was especially fond of the military men in uniform.

samleahLast week Sam’s class went on a field trip to the Fire station.  It was heaven for him.  He was in awe pretty much the entire time. This is one of his favorite friends he plays with and in his class, Leah.

samquarry1

While Dan was gone on his super fun bike trip, we played at the Quarry trail…fallleavesIt is SO, SO pretty right now

samquarry2He could jump and play around in this river bed forever.  Hopping all over!

joanhorseSaturday afternoon my aunt Joan let us come pick pumpkins and play in her yard.  Sam was pretty fond of feeding her horses.

mepumpkinShe has SUCH pretty pumpkins!

alijoanRuby, Ali, Joan

IMG_3844

And a few photos from Dan’s trip to the San Rafael Swell.  He and Jamon had a great time.  I’ll have him do  TR all about it here soon.IMG_3876 IMG_3914 IMG_3923

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

