Stuck in a rut {overtraining and other things}

Been stuck at 160-161lbs for a while now.  For the most part I feel really good.  The main thing I’m noticing is that I’m getting much stronger and my muscles are making more of an appearance.  This has never happened in my 32 years of living!  I’ve formed good and fun friendships at the few group fitness classes I go to during the week and I really like that.  It’s good for me.   Mountain bike season is in full effect and we all know that makes me even happier!  And before I go on, I’m proud of how far I’ve come…just want to be extra clear on that.

muscles2

On the flip side, I’m just not losing the weight I was.  I know, I know…that’s to be expected when you get smaller but really, I need to lose at least 10-12 more lbs to not be considered overweight anymore and to really feel most comfortable.  I see my body and it’s clear I’ve got to get more fat off, that’s just reality.  I was losing 1-2lbs consistently when I wasn’t working out quite as much and in combination with my primal eating lifestyle.  Dan and I had a lengthy talk the other night and he brought up several good and valid points.   He started by saying, “I know you don’t want to hear this, but I think you’re exercising too much to lose weight.”

I mean, so many people would love to have that problem in their life when they are working towards a weight loss goal or just in general, so that’s why I say I’m so thankful to be able to have time to get so much in.  But  at this point in my journey it’s not promoting the weight loss I’d like to see.  It seems counterintuitive to say that people may need to exercise/train less to promote losing fat but this can be very true.  And also, truth be told I already have some “hanging” skin.  I can see it already from the effects of being so overweight and from birthing two children (that part, SO worth it!).

body2

I was doing about 3-4 hours/week of cardio in the winter months and now I’m up to about 8-10 hrs/week.  Big difference. Mainly because of the mountain biking in combination with the running and I still like to do weight classes.  So what’s the problem?  Lots of intense exercise raises your cortisol, a stress hormone that when elevated:

-Promotes fat retention, particularly visceral fat (the worst kind-think your belly and thighs).

-Lowers your basal metabolic rate.

-Makes you hungry by stimulating ghrelin (the hunger hormone) production, and decreasing your sensitivity to insulin and leptin (the fullness hormone).

-Lowers your production of testosterone and growth hormone, hormones that promote lean mass retention and fat loss.

Obviously none of those things are conducive to weight loss, especially when you’re nearing your goal weight and your body is less willing to shed pounds.  It now makes sense why I’ve been constantly hungry lately.  Like, want to snack all the time hungry.  So for now, I’m going to try and cut back a little and keep my eating in check and keep doing what I’m doing food wise, as it 110% works for me.    I love that I can see visions of the so called “finish” line to losing all this weight.  The next step after that is maintaining, which includes still eating the way I do now, for the rest of my life and adding in more and different stuff workout wise…we’ll see about all that when that time actually comes 🙂

And no post is complete without Sam pics, right?!

firstdayswim

Swim pool season has begun.  He was beyond excited!safety

Making sure he’s wearing Dad’s safety glasses everywhere we went today since we drove Dad’s truck.  He kept saying “my eyes are so safe and I do things like Dad!”

Happy Weekend people!

Leave a Reply

