Sweating {and other related things}

(silly disclaimer:  I’m no expert, I just know that this is working for me and is changing the way I think about and live my life)

Over the past 10 years I’ve always liked working out, exercising, doing something that makes me sweat.

I played soccer all three years of high school and then a little more on teams the first part of college.  I was probably in what I thought was the best shape of my life during my senior year.   But, I was still overweight.  I pretty much thought I had to workout 7 days a week for hours to keep feeling that way.

I’ve learned over the years and especially the last several months that working out everyday for hours won’t actually help me make progress, only hinder it.

I remember after Dan and I got married I would go to 24 hour fitness and go for like, 45-60 mins on the elliptical (I hate that thing!) and then randomly lift some weights and then try the stair stepper and still think I hadn’t done enough.  I’d then continue to feed my body lots of crappy food…and waaayyy too much at that!

Until I start training for another race of any kind, my workout routine looks like this, week by week…

Monday-Spin.  Lift heavy: squat and press

Tuesday-Lift heavy: deadlift.  Do a WOD (“workout of the day” from Crossfit or Crossfitendurance.com)  These are fast, interval type workouts that are hard.

Wednesday– Rest:  active rest.  I’ll normally walk for 30-60 mins at the gym if the weather is gross, do some ab/core stuff, pay more attention to purposely playing around and running with Sam.

Thursday- Lift heavy:  squat.  Do another WOD (these include lots of push ups, pull up progressions…etc)

Friday-Spin

Saturday-Sprints:  I’ve been doing running sprints for the past several weeks.  I’m not a runner and would like to be someday.  These sprints challenge the crap out of me…way out of my comfort zone.  It’s good.

Sunday-Rest:  active rest

halfway there(I still really don’t like posting photos of all of me, but I need to remind myself I’m making progress and seeing results.  Halfway there!)

If you look closely you’ll see only two long cardio workouts in there (spin) .  I may add in one more if I’m feeling like it or just want to.  That’s only two hours of long, endurance cardio sessions and I’m losing weight week by week…awesome, right?!  RIGHT!   All the other stuff like lifting heavy, walking, WOD’s and playing day to day really make the difference.  That stuff is hard, but so very effective and fast.

Myth- hours of cardio will make/ensure you lose weight.  Nope!

Myth- lifting heavy will make a girl bulky.  Nope!  It will make you stronger than you ever thought possible.  I’m amazed at how far I’ve come on my squat since last September.  Progress week by week.

My routine will change a bit when I start training for my bike races this summer.  I’ll be doing a lot more long bikes rides and short WOD’s and play, play, playing with Sam.  I’m excited to start my mt. bike season weighing less than I did when I was in peak shape for my bike race in 2011.  It seemed so impossible, but is becoming  more real as the months go by.

I LOVE to sweat and get a good workout in, but I don’t like feeling guilty about not spending hours at the gym or doing workout after workout at home.  This change in my life has gotten me out of the “Chronic Cardio” habit and into a much healthier {for me} way to live and keep in shape for the rest of my life.

**And one other thing to note…all this to say you must, must, must keep the way you eat in line.  Maybe that paleo or primal or similar, maybe not?  In combination with the way I eat, this is working really well for me.  I wish I would have known about all this years ago.  Seriously!

So, if you ever want to go for a mt. bike ride or take me on a run (yes, I will run with you) or go play at the park or go for a hike or do some sprints…let me know and I’m there:)

And just to compare…I weighed 211lbs or there abouts when I got married.  I weighed well over that both times I was pregnant.  I HAVE come a long way already. (SO self conscious posting these, but oh well!)

honeymoonOn our honeymoon in Jackson, WY.  Yeah, I know, right?

IMGP0109

7 thoughts on “Sweating {and other related things}

  1. First of all, I love that picture of you in the mirror with Sam photobombing you! So adorable. Secondly, GREAT JOB! You are doing awesome and you are totally inspiring. Keep up the great work, you look amazing (and sound SO healthy!). Bring the family to Snowbasin so Reed and Sam can ski together and hopefully we can take some runs too!

    • Meg! Thanks so much for your kind words. It’s hard work, but I have to do it for me, for my family…for my life! And we would love, love to come to Snowbasin..I wish it weren’t so expensive for us to ski.
      I do agree that the boys need to ski together. Sam is just barley doing his pizza stops better now and I have to get him skiing along (without the harness) here soon!
      I’ll talk to Dan and see if there’s a weekend in the next month or two that we could make it up.

  2. Liz…. you look amazing! Im so happy for you and totally know where your at and coming from. I too am on a similar journey…. trying to get slimmer and more fit, my other goal this year is to run a 10K. You are such an encouragement and i love seeing your progress, keep up the good work!

    • Thanks Kari!
      Kelly and I talked a lot about how similar you and I are in this journey and struggle we’ve had. I feel like you and I have so much in common. I hope you’re journey is going well and I can’t wait to see you guys at the wedding in August! (we’ll be there for about 9-10 days)

  3. Hey Liz!

    I’ve been reading for a while (since you left that comment on KERF about your story) but this is my first time commenting. (And now I love your blog a lot more than KERF, for the record 🙂

    Anyway, don’t feel self-conscious about your past photos. We all have a past, and despite its ups and downs it makes us who it is today. I am also ashamed of past photos, because I was WAY too skinny for many years. Now I’m hoping that I can still have kids. So part of your past is that you were able to have Sam– and would you ever be ashamed of that? No!

    Anyway, just another way of looking at it.

    Keep up the great work!!

    xoxo

    • Hilary, thank you so much for you kind words and comments, I love an appreciate them!
      I’m a lot lees self conscious now than I was back then, but it’s just in my nature to feel that way. I’m getting over those feelings more and more now though, thanks goodness! And yes, I’m glad I went through all I have til now, as it’s made me the person I am (and growing into) today.
      Thanks for reading! Do you have a blog I can check out?
      Liz

  4. Liz you look so amazing! You are very inspiring in many ways! I love reading your blog and all about tips you have. So proud and impressed with you!

Leave a Reply

