Calories, snow and good food.

Pretty random, huh?

I feel like I have so much to blog about, but don’t have the time.  Work is going well and Sam had a good week at “preschool miss Victoria’s class”  He’s still sad when I drop him off, but is doing SO much better after I leave and for the rest of the day.  He’s still taking great naps there and talking about his little friends and what he does during the day.  The best is when I catch him singing a song or talking about his teacher or what they did when he doesn’t know I’m listening.  So tender and cute.

I am so thankful and cherish the days we have together now.  Sometimes I love not having a lot of plans and just hanging out with him all day!

I realize this is very blurry, but he had the best time in his glow-in-the-dark bath.  So fun!

The other night Dan made a super yummy peach berry crumble.  Canned peaches and frozen berries.  The topping is walnuts, some oats, sugar and butter.  If I’m going to have a treat, I want it to be yummy like this!

Last night he made one of our favorites for a cold day.  Chicken soup.  Shredded chicken thighs, his homemade stock (to die for), carrots, onions a little rice and parsley.  Really good.  If you want the recipe,  just text or call him, as he just made it up a while ago.

Speaking of cold, he LOVED the snow yesterday.  I have to drop him off by 8:30am to get to work in time, so we were out early playing yesterday.  Just like his passion for his bike, I feel like it’s the same with snow.  Pretty darn excited to get him skiing again!

I’ve had a few questions about my calorie intake….do I count calories, log it, right down everything I eat?  The answer to all of those is no.  I realize that for some people, when they have a lot of weight to lose and need to get in control of their food and portions that works for them.  I feel like I’ve had a problem with every one of those aspects.  I used to go in phases of counting calories and logging every single thing I ate.  It was stressful, annoying, time consuming and did NOT work for me, obviously.  Part of eating the way I do now is how empowering it is to not have to do that.  By eating this way, you naturally eat less calories and carbohydrates.  I normally stay within 60-100 grams of carbs per day at this point.  I will up that when I start training for bike races in the spring and when I’ve lost at least 50 pounds.   Also, it’s a simple fact of calories in vs. calories out.   Also, too many carbs will make me gain weight  quickly.  So, by being aware of around how many grams of carbs I’m taking in each day, that just naturally lessens my calorie intake which is proving to work for my body, mind and the way this whole journey is going.   I’m fully aware of what I eat and take responsibility for it, which is the best way to get back a healthy way of eating for the long term…forever.  The key here is that I don’t feel deprived, which is HUGE for me.  This my friends, is working!

Leave a Reply

