The weekend

We had a fun and pretty mellow last weekend before I go back to work tomorrow.  Dan went to Moab on Friday night and had a really awesome ride on the Whole Enchilada .(25 miles of awesomeness)  It’s one of our favorite rides and totally worth driving down there for staying less than 18 hours. 

Sam got to play with some family friends, Jane and Siri while I went to dinner with Ali, cousin Emily and another friend Carole.  It’s always nice to have a couple hours of chatting with just ladies.  I think we could have talked for hours more.  Thanks for inviting me, Ali and thank you Collett’s.  Our kids seriously love you!

Sam and I did some shopping at Costco and playing with Ali before naps.  Despite his serious face, he was beyond excited to ride on the “flatbed kind of traincart, Momma!”

Image

 Went up to Grandma and Grandpa John’s for the rest of the day.  He was in heaven playing with Connor and Benjamin.  It was just these three boys while my Mom and I hungout.

Image

Image

 

 

Image

Went on a really nice and quite cold ride this morning while Dan and Sam played on the trail.

Image

We ended the day with some time at the pumpkin patch, where he had to ride the train.  I had seen it there earlier in the week and thought that even if we didn’t get any pumpkins, letting him ride the train would be awesome enough 🙂

Image

Image

Image

Also did more bike riding before dinner…

Image

And as for how I’m feeling and eating?  I feel pretty darn awesome.  I’ve read a lot about when people make the change and start to eat this way they have more energy, sleep better and overall just feel better (minus any weight loss that may come with it).  I was skeptical and didn’t think that would happen so soon.  I can tell you this….I’ve been sleeping really well the past six nights.  Better than I have in a very, very long time. I wake up around 6:30-6:45am and feel totally rested and fine if I need to get out of bed or if Sam is already up.  I’ve noticed I don’t feel sluggish anymore or I guess the only way to describe it is lethargic.  Lots of energy to get me through our days.  It’s only been seven days, but I can really feel a difference.

Image

Breakfast this morning.  Sam LOVES and I mean loves these little sausage patties Dan makes.  Egges with jalapenos from Jessica’s garden, sauteed green tomato from ours and sharp chedder cheese.  YUM.

Image

And dinner was chicken marinaded in(gluten free) soy sauce, olive oil, dijon mustard and lemon juice.  Roasted a butternut squash and broccoli with herb butter.  Also very delicious.  Tomorrow I’ll weigh myself to see what’s been happening and I’ll post after my long day at work.  Wish me luck.  It will be hard for me to be away from Sam.  He’ll be fine though, especially since he gets to go to the Zoo with our awesome neighbors Kirk and Linda…thank you for taking him all day!

 

Leave a Reply

