This is my real life

Welcome to The Deans new blog home!

I’ll still be documenting our adventures with Sam, but this blog will also be a place for me to write about and document my journey to getting healthy.  A place to also talk about how I grieve.   I’ll write about the honest and real life emotions and struggles I have.   The failures, success and trials that come along with this journey, all while being a wife and busy, part time working Mom.

I wouldn’t normally put my feelings and honesty about my struggles with weight and myself in general out there, but ever since Naomi Jane was born and passed almost three months ago, I’ve been feeling a need to write.  To be real.  To change.  To let people know that it’s hard and it sucks and really….it takes a toll on me mentally, which translates to me not taking care of my body.

I’m a very active person and Mom in general, so these struggles I have….yeah, they come from food and I really hate that.  I hate that so many foods are so good (especially sweets), but are so incredibly bad for my body.  Yes, I’ve made some positive changes over the last two years, thanks in huge part to Dan.  I’m lucky in that he’s so conscious about what goes into his body and he really takes care of himself.   But somehow, I just struggle so much more than he does.  So much more than most of my family and friends.  It’s been hard for me ever since I was in grade school.

This is a lifestyle change for me, NOT a diet.  This journey I’m going to be documenting is about me eating real, good food.  Lots of veggies, meat, eggs, nuts, fruit, good fats, some dairy and dark chocolate 🙂  I fully believe in the 80/20 rule as well.  I’ll be following the Primal way of living and eating, which for some of you, seems weird or crazy. I already don’t eat much gluten these days, so this is just a natural path for me to take and I feel good about it. If you click the Primal link, you’ll see Marks Daily Apple.  It’s a site that Dan and I have been reading for a while.  If you have questions as to why this is a good way to live and lifestyle to lead, that site can answer any and all questions you may have.

Now for the really, real part…I am 5’4″ and weigh 200 lbs.  200 freaking pounds people! But how can that be when I’m so active and love riding my bike so much?  It’s the food my friends…the food.   The devastating birth and loss of our daughter has NOT helped this situation and honestly, has made it much harder.  BUT, I’m determined to get over this and make a real change and keep with it.  I’m sure I’ve said that a thousand times, but I’ve never, ever written it out like this.  Ever.  My goal for the short term is to lose 10lbs.  Long term?  More. 150lbs is my goal.

I want to be running around with Dan and Sam for the rest of my life.  I want to feel comfortable in clothes and actually LIKE shopping for them.  I want to be an example of good health and habits to my family and friends.

I can do this and I hope you’ll cheer me on as I go.

 
One thought on “This is my real life

  1. Good for you, Liz! I’ll be cheering you on. Shouldn’t we all be more real and more ready to make changes? I’ve been trying to eat healthier too. I just read “Eat to Live” by Joel Fuhrman–I recommend it if you haven’t checked it out yet.

Leave a Reply

